top of page
Search
Writer's picturemieracles

Boundaries Chapter 2

by mieracles



CHAPTER II: Not This Time


“Thanks, would you mind if I share a table with you?” he asked while moving to the chair. Before I could say a word, he had already occupied the seat. Behind his mask, I knew he was smiling. So I returned that kind smile. However, I wasn’t sure if that kind gesture reflected through my eyes.


We both settled down to our seats. The coffee shop was still full of unfamiliar faces. I opened my book, The Power of Now by Ekhart Tole, to the page where I left my bookmark. “...you are not your emotions. You have to learn how to separate your mind and your being with your emotions.”, I read. Suddenly, I got distracted by the gentle knocks on the table. It was the guy again who asked to share a table with me.


“Sorry to interrupt you, but can you check if we got the same WIFI password? I still can’t connect to their internet”, he asked. I checked the paper that he received from the counter, containing the password, I put down my book. “Let me see,” I responded. It was the same as mine, so I advised him to reenter the passwords again, and it worked!


“Got it, thank you! Haha!” Usually, I easily get annoyed by this kind of unnecessary interruption, especially when I’m drowning in between book pages, but at that moment, I just smiled again and said, “Alright!”


He also brought out his book and started browsing the pages. We were sitting still for quite some time, both absorbed by the pages of our books and occasionally sipping our drinks until his phone rang. “Yes, Love? Are you done?” I heard him say to whoever holds the other line.


I’m not eavesdropping, of course. It’s customary in public places to overhear other people’s conversations, especially at a shared table. “Sure, I’ll finish my coffee, and I’ll pick you up there. Give me ten minutes," he added.


I focused my attention back on my book. He was about to get up when his coffee suddenly spilled all over the table. I was shocked, of course, but sadly, I wasn’t quick enough to escape the dripping coffee on the table. I got black coffee all over my white pants. His coffee was not hot anymore [to say the least], but I’m more worried about the stain. “Oh, goodness! I’m sorry! I didn’t mean to!” he exclaimed. Of course, I was aware that it was not his intention to spill the coffee like that, but one thing was on my mind,” This dude is freaking clumsy, and I can’t let him get away with that easily.”


I looked him straight into the eye and told him, “Hand me those coffee stickers that you collected, and we’re good.” Yeah, I know it was a ridiculous response, but I am never the type of person who cries over spilled coffees. “Are you serious?” he asked and handed me some tissues. “I’m sorry; I am in a rush because I’m about to pick up my girlfriend. Really sorry...”


He was about to give more explanation, but I cut him off. The damage has been done. I am going home wearing these stained white pants, and hearing his reasons why he was in a rush will not do any good to change the situation. I could also tell that he was very sincere with his apologies, so I shrugged off the lengthy discussion. He left me with coffee stains all over me and sixteen coffee stickers. Before going home, I collected his sticker collection and brought it to the counter to exchange for a minimalist design journal.


AFTER ONE YEAR...


I was not on my best self that night. I just got out of the office, and I'm walking my way to the nearest terminal to go home. It was a long day for me and, I guess, for my colleagues as well. We got a complaint from one media partner that morning. It was a pretty long discussion, and we are still about to continue troubleshooting the problem for the next few days ahead, I guess. Working as a writer in a known technology company is not as cool as it may sound, especially for someone like me who's not a techy type of person. But I've been doing this work for quite a long time now, so somehow, I'm used to it. Nonetheless, there are days when I still get exhausted, and all I ever want is to go back to my apartment and sleep round the clock.

At the terminal, I found myself at the tail end of a long irritated line of people who probably, just like me, hated the hassle brought by the rain that night. All of us are almost standing close to each other. I was holding my umbrella on my left arm when suddenly my phone vibrated inside my handbag. As I tried to get my phone out of my bag, I felt a slight bump on my shoulder. Some guy rushed next to me. I understand the desperation to go home, but that little bump almost threw me off balance. Thankfully, I regained my balance instantly and avoided all the shame of diving into the muddy street gutter.


To be continued...




Hey, brave heart!

See you in the comment section!


41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page